Trafford 10K

10th March 2013
As ever the Trafford 10K attracted a quality field, with Anthony Ford (Sale Harriers Manchester) returning to defend his title from 2012. Conditions were cool with a strong wind in places meaning the super fast times of previous years were beyond the leading men this time. But even the wind couldn’t stop winner Richard Weir (Derby AC) clocking a sub 30 minute winning time (29:50), Ben Fish chased him in with 29:58 after getting the better of David Web (Leeds City AC) in the closing stages. In all 15 runners broke 31 minutes.

The leading group approaching the 1KM mark

In the women’s race GB International Triathlete Non Stanford (Swansea Harriers) made the short trip over from her base in Leeds to take a single second off the course record set in 2012 by Elle Baker. 2011 winner Ava Hutchinson (Cardiff AC) knocked a couple of seconds off her previous best to finish second in 33:18 with Sonia Samuels (Sale Harriers Manchester) third in 33:39.

Kevin McConnell, Nigel Powell (Altrincham & District AC) and Chris Dando

Race Winners: Richard Weir (Derby AC) & Non Stanford (Swansea Harriers)

2nd Place: Ben Fish (Blackburn Harriers) & Ava Hutchinson (Cardiff AC)

3rd Place: David Webb (Leeds City Athletic Club) & Sonia Samuels (Sale Harriers Manchester)

Ben Russell (Liverpool Harriers AC) and Derek Simpson (Rochdale Harriers & AC)

James Reed (Altrincham & District AC) and Matthew Kelly (Altrincham & District AC)

Dave Turnbull (Holmfirth Harriers) and Tom Jenkins (Hallamshire Harriers)

Sarah Hood (Tipton Harriers) and Maria Barrett (Liverpool Harriers AC)

The Ladies top three: Ava Hutchinson (Cardiff AC), Non Stanford (Swansea Harriers) & Sonia Samuels (Sale Harriers Manchester)

Race winner Non Stanford (Swansea Harriers) and Race Organiser Dave Norman

Full photo gallery here

Bookmark and Share